So here I am. Doing something I swore I never would- writing a blog. Blogs are for lame people who want to rant about their lives; no one actually wants to read them. No one would actually waste their precious time reading about my life. They have lives of their own. Occasionally there are funny blogs that are insightful and well written, but most are just cries for attention. So I guess this is me, saying HEY WORLD, HERE I AM!

If you’re bothering to read this, you might want to know who I am. Well, basically, I’m an unpatriotic American who’s going to University in Canada to study peace and conflict studies, wants to become fluent in Spanish, is an avid Mennonite, has a perverted mind, plays clarinet, and loves to bake. I know that most of those things aren’t really cohesive, but I’m not exactly a cohesive person.

So here I am. First term of university. Trying to figure out what the heck I’m doing. What entertains me the most is finding out Canadian-isms, such as take a note, write an exam, marks, washroom, keener, university, smarties and rockets, the grading system, sketch, writing an exam, lip chap, pop, and more. I can’t wait to go home and start rattling off Canadian slang to the bewilderment of my poor American friends. But goodness knows I won’t be seeing them anytime soon.

Oh, and another thing; I’m completely logical. Like a robot. Or, at least, that’s what I want to make myself believe. If it weren’t for freaking hormones and a boy who I always happen to follow walking up the stairs who wears slim, very flattering pantss, I’d be fantastic. And the fact that my brain picks out his voice from across the room, completely incongruous with my logical decision to ignore him. Even though I recognize him as ridiculously immature and annoying. And taken. Damn emotions.

But yea, the majority of my life is spent shoving emotions down, or trying to justify their existence mentally. It’s a fun life let me tell you. But I don’t really know how else to live, so this is how it’s gonna be. And I’m completely happy with it. I mean, who wants to run around being controlled by things as temperamental and fleeting as emotions? Yea they may feel good for a while, but they’re usually completely wrong and foolish. They’re overrated. And they’ve gotten me into way too much trouble before.

